Fitness Tests

Test 1: The Cooper Test:

The Cooper Test which tests cardiovascular endurance. In this test you run for 12 minutes between two cones placed 20m apart. You have to run back and forth between the cones as many times as possible in the 12 minutes. You count the number of 20m laps you do. You can use this number (and distance) to find your V02 max.

Reflection – I think I could of pushed myself more, to run faster the whole time, although it was difficult to stop and turn around at the end of the 20m. Although I had a sore throat/cold.

 Cooper Test Chart (for distance):

This chart is the normative data for the 12-minute Cooper test for females of different age categories.

Source: http://www.brianmac.co.uk/gentest.htm

My score was 111, which is 2220m. This is ‘Excellent’.

V02 Max Chart (ml/kg/min):

V02 Max is calculated by (Distance covered in metres – 504.9) ÷ 44.73. It measures the amount of oxygen your body can take in, deliver and use in 1 minute. This is a chart of the V02 Max for females of different age categories. The higher the number, the better.

Source: http://www.brianmac.co.uk/vo2max.htm

My V02 Max is 38.34, which is ‘Good’.

Test 2: Vertical Standing Jump:

Vertical standing jump which tests power. It is a skill related test. In the test you stand next to a wall with a tape measure on it  sideways. You chalk your hand. You reach as far as far as you can on the wall with your feet on the ground and mark the wall with the chalk on your hand. Then you jump (you can bend your knees) and mark the wall with the chalk. The difference between the marks is the power. I only did this test once.

Reflection – I didn’t score very well on this test. So I think I should work on improving my power by doing squats for example.

Vertical Standing Jump:

This chart shows the average for 15-16 years old.

Source: http://www.brianmac.co.uk/sgtjump.htm

I got 32cm which is ‘Poor’.

Test 3: Zig-Zag Agility Test:

This tests your agility. My scores were 7.42, 7.47, 7.45 seconds, which I averaged to 7.45 seconds to get my speed – 2.36m/second. You set up the course shown in the picture, and run around the cones in a zig-zag while being timed. The course is basically a rectangle 16 by 10 feet with a cone in the center and at every corner. Start the time when you touch the first cone and end it when you touch the same cone again. The faster time the more agile you are.Notes

Source: http://www.brianmac.co.uk/zigzag.htm

 

Posted on October 3, 2011, in Sports Science. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment